Fight a Drunk Driving Charge With a Dallas DWI attorney
A DWI is one of the most common criminal charges in Texas. A DWI stands for driving while intoxicated and individuals can face the charge if their blood alcohol level is above 0.08 or if their driving is otherwise impaired regardless of blood alcohol content. The penalties for a DWI can be severe, and a Dallas DWI lawyer can help you fight the charges.
Penalties for a Felony in Dallas, Texas
Many individuals underestimate the severity of a DWI charge. However, you should be aware that a DWI conviction is very severe and carries minimum jail time even for a first offense. For example, someone faces a minimum of 3 days in jail for a first offense, 30 days in jail for a second offense, and 2 years behind bars for a third offense.
To help you avoid the mandatory minimum jail sentences, a Dallas drunk driving attorney can help argue your defense or potentially seek a plea deal to a lesser charge (though a wet reckless plea is not allowed by Texas law).
In addition to jail time, you should know that someone convicted of a DWI also faces monetary fines as well as other penalties like the requirement to install an ignition interlock device. The ignition interlock requirement is typically for repeat DWI offenders.
Implied Consent Laws in Dallas, Texas
There is a rumor out there that you can simply beat a DWI charge by refusing to take a Breathalyzer test. However, you should know that there are implied consent laws in Texas. This means that if you drive, you automatically give consent to undergo a blood alcohol test. If you refuse to take the test when asked to do so by the authorities, you face a license suspension regardless of whether you were intoxicated.
As mentioned above, someone is considered intoxicated if he or she has a blood alcohol level above 0.08. Minors under the age of 21 are considered intoxicated if they have any amount of alcohol in their system. In other words, there is zero tolerance for a minor drinking and driving.
If you’re pulled over on suspicion of a DUI, there are specific things you need to know in order to protect yourself and your property. Not following simple steps can damage your case. This video explains step-by-step what to do if you’re stopped for a DUI, and how to speak to the police officer who is questioning you.
Many types of field sobriety tests may be used by the police. There is a specific combination of three tests that has been found to be a reliable sign of driver impairment by the U.S. Department of Transportation when administered accurately. Keep reading to learn more information about these tests and how they are supposed to be administered.
A DWI charge is a serious offense. It can carry jail time, monetary fines, and other penalties. To help fight your charges, you will want an experienced attorney on your side. To learn how an attorney at The Law Office of John L. Corn, P.C can help you, call 214-528-4529.