Even a first-time DWI can come with life-changing consequences, but if this is a subsequent offense, the penalties can be particularly harsh. Most states have a sliding scale of penalties for drunk driving convictions.
If a judge convicts you for driving while intoxicated a second time, you are likely to face much harsher consequences in the form of fines and potential jail time. According to Texas Statutes, a second DWI offense is a Class A misdemeanor.
If you are facing DWI charges in Dallas, contact John L. Corn, Attorney at Law. Dallas DWI lawyer John L. Corn can evaluate your case and develop a comprehensive defense.
If you have questions about your charges or would like to learn about potential defense strategies, call us today at 214-528-4529 to schedule an appointment. Read on to learn what to expect as a second-time DWI offender:
Fines and Jail Time
As a second-time offender, you could face severe fines and potential jail time. According to DMV.org, you may face a fine of up to $4,000. At the same time, a judge can sentence you to one month to one year in jail.
The severity of the fine and the duration of your sentence will depend on the circumstances of the offense. If police arrested you for driving under the influence while there was a minor in the car, or if your BAC level was particularly high, then you may face harsher fines and increased jail time. Ultimately, it will come down to the discretion of the judge and the credibility of your defense.
A judge may also sentence you to community service. The sentence can range from 80 hours and 200 hours. It is also common for the courts to believe subsequent DWI offenders have a substance abuse problem, and a judge may order you to undergo some form of rehabilitation or substance abuse treatment.
License Suspensions and Administrative Penalties
People with two DWI convictions face a lengthy license suspension. Depending on the circumstances of your case, the suspension could last for up to two years. In order to keep your license during this time, you will have to pay an annual surcharge.
According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, this surcharge equates to $2,000 each year. In order to get your license back, you will also need to pay a reinstatement fee of $125.
It is important to remember that there is no look-back period in the state of Texas. This means that even your first offense will count on your record, and the state will treat any subsequent offenses with increasing severity.
If you are facing DWI charges in Texas, contact Dallas DUI attorney John L. Corn, Attorney at Law. We can help with building a defense to your charges, and we will defend your rights aggressively from the start. To schedule an appointment, call us today at 214-528-4529.